Cracow Jazz Collective

cracow jazz collective

The Team:

Cyprian Baszyński - trumpet
Dominik Mietła - trumpet
Marcin Ślusarczyk - alto saxophone
Sławomir Pezda - tenor saxophone
Bartłomiej Prucnal - baritone saxophone
Mateusz Gawęda - piano, compositions
Piotr Południak - double bass
Dawid Fortuna - drums

The only formation of this type in Poland, comprised of the finest young Polish jazz musicians.

The octet's music has its roots in the jazz of the 1960's, drawing inspiration from the musical explorations of John Coltrane, Charles Mingus, Ornette Coleman, Krzysztof Komeda and Andrzej Trzaskowski. Beyond jazz-based inspirations, the creativity of composers such as Igor Stravinsky and Wojciech Kilar has also had a profound influence. The group's repertoire consists of compositions by Mateusz Gawęda – three jazz dramas, connected in a coherent whole. Conceptually, the pieces were composed in such a manner, that the strictly defined form has places allowing for its complete opening, which provides the possibility of creating the whole, through the individuality of each musician.

The group had its genesis in Krakow, of course, where the musicians met at the legendary Nucleus of Jazz, which resulted in friendship on a musical, as well as personal basis. The remarkably consistent sound of the group stems from the fact that its members work with one another on a daily basis, in a number of other formations (NSI Quartet, New Bone, PeGaPoFo, among others), and their similar perception of music makes playing together an incredible pleasure, which translates powerfully to the reception of listeners.

Their album will be released in April, 2016, by the For Tune Publishing House! 

cracow jazz collective